Prizegiving 2018


News and Web Changes 

This is where we'll announce the most recent additions to our web site. If you've visited us before and want to know what's changed, take a look here first. (Click on thumbnails for larger image.)

A new  mixed Sunday Jackpot Pairs competition is being tried out starting on Sunday 9th June at 2 pm. There will be an entry fee but a chance for everyone (winners and losers) to win the jackpot each week.  The matches will mainly be in the form of three bowl pairs. When the matches are complete a draw will be made for a number between 1 and 20, and if the shots difference in any match is the same as the number drawn, the jackpot (initially 60) will be shared among the players in that match. Everyone has a chance to win! If no score matches the number drawn, the entry fees go toward increasing the jackpot in the following week. Entries can be made in advance on the Social Events notice board, or just come down on Sunday before 1.45 pm.

Season 2019 opened officially on 13th April on a sunny if somewhat chilly day. President Chris Lebessis introduced the guests and then welcomed 14 new members to the club most of whom were present on the day.  Anne Blain threw the first jack and then a five rink competition between  President's and Vice-President's teams took place, which the former won (without, it has to be said, much help from the President's rink!)

Social Events for 2019

Sunday 12th May     -  Guest Chef
Saturday 29th June - Race Night
Saturday 3rd August-  Summer BBQ
Saturday 21st September- Caberet Night
Saturday 26th October-  Prizegiving Dinner Dance
Friday 1st November - Gents Night
Saturday 16th November-  Jazz Night
Tuesday 26th November- Ladies Night
Saturday 14th December- Xmas DAnce
Friday 31st January 2020- Mixed Carpet bowls
Saturday 21st March 2020- Quiz Night


News for 2018 has been moved to History section


Web Changes

bulletUpdate after Opening day April 2019
bulletUpdate March 2019 New Directors
bulletUpdate after Finals Day 2018
bulletUpdate after Finals Day 2017
bulletUpdate after opening 2017
bulletUpdate after finals for 2015
bulletUpdate after Opening Day 2015
bulletNews for 2014 moved to History section
bulletMatch Secretary added to Directors, and news for 2013 moved to History section
bullet'News', 'Social Events'  and 'Calendar' updated 13th April after Opening Day
bulletSite updated 3rd April with news of first Lady President
bulletSite updated in March after AGM. News for 2012 transferred to  History section
bulletLadies page updated after opening 2012
bulletNews for 2011 has been transferred to the History section
bulletNews for 2010 has been transferred to the History section
bulletSeptember 2008  An update after finals day which saw 17 year old Ken Carlin win the Championship, causing much anguish among his elders, but obviously not betters!
bullet4th January 2006 At last , an update!  A photo showing the clubhouse in the 1960's before the lounge extension was added. Other hot news from the carpet bowls section is the restoration of the very popular Chip Convenor post which has resulted in food arriving late on Friday evenings. It is just as well that the wives of certain members do not browse this website and see how their best efforts at keeping their men in trim condition are being badly undermined!
bullet5th September 2004 Global warming?? Click this link to our photo page.


July 2010- Hosting of website changed to 100webspace which will result in an advertising banner across the top, but hopefully more frequent updates.

January 2010- Un update with much older material removed

September 2008: A belated update for the 2008 season 

March 2006: Pages reorganised after AGM

January 2005- An update and a fresh 'theme'.

Please note that all photos are 'clickable' to give you a bigger image. You can then click the 'back' button of your browser to return.

On a PC with Internet Explorer you get the best viewing by pressing the f11 key.

Contact Us                External Links                   return to top of page



Last modified: April 04, 2014