Prizegiving 2018

Season 2018

Click here for photos from the Annual Prizegiving Dinner on 27th October.

The Annual General Meeting took place in February and Alex Sinclair continued as President. There was a better response among members to fill the various posts. Chris Lebessis  volunteered to take over as Vice President, and Bill Gilfillan continued as Secretary. David Macdonald volunteered for Men's Match secretary . No one was prepared to take over the important Bar Convenor post. John Huntley continued as the Treasurer. Ginny Thorburn and Corina Robertson joined the committee, with Mary Cochrane continuing as Ladies Match secretary. Ian Bowie and Walter Irvine rejoined the committee along with Peter Woods.

Playing Season

The season was notable for the good weather which prevailed through the main part of the season, and we also saw the welcome addition of five new members who played regularly throughout the season. Our teams in the Glasgow and Scottish Championships did not do too well and none reached the District finals. We had our usual mixed bag of results in the Kelvin Allander league finishing in the bottom half and did slightly better in the Seniors League. We were also around mid table in the Glasgow League division 4.

David Macdonald did well in the Kelvin Allander Top Ten singles by reaching the final.

David and Wilma Macdonald continued their generous sponsorship of the Millenium Triples Competition, which was won this year by Michelle Orr, Netta Moffatt and Bob Ewing.

Club Finals:
 The Mens' fours final was held on the Monday before finals day and was won by Bill Gilfillan, Frank Kennedy, George McLaughlin and Alistair Gunn.

Unfortunately the Ladies Championship could not be held on Finals day due to illness, but in those that took place, Alistair Gunn defeated Alistair Linley in the Gents championship, and Colin Beattie prevailed in the Senior Championship over Frank Kennedy.


Bill Gilfillan and George McLaughlin triumphed over Peter Woods and Jim Gilchrist in the Pairs. Anne Blaine defeated  Liz Mullane in the Ladies' Vice-President's Trophy.



On reserve finals day, Alistair Gunn completed the "double" by defeating Alex Sinclair in the  President's trophy, while Christina and Frank Kennedy defeated Isabel Gilmour and Gordon Smith to win the Mixed Pairs for the umpteenth time!   Jim Short had a narrow win over Chris Lebessis in the Vice president's cup.


Other finals took place on various days. Gordon Smith defeated Alistair Gunn in the Talbot Crosbie (played in sets), then Alistair got his revenge by winning the 2 bowl singles.


The Gents under 70 final between George McLaughlin and Ken Burnside could not be played due to the latter's illness. Ken did well to reach a final in his first year of bowling and we wish him a speedy recovery.  Another new member Andy Smillie won his first trophy by defeating John Huntley in the Isle of Skye competition.

In the ladies Balloted Pairs Liz Mullane and Isabel Gilmour defeated Corina Robertson and Ginny Thorburn.  In the Knock out Competition (played in sets) Anne Blaine won with May Gordon as runner up.  The President's trophy for the ladies saw Corina Robertson defeating Isabel Gilmour.

The Ladies championship was eventually played with Isabel Gilmour defeating Irene Harrison in a very close contest. Shown here after Anne McConnacher presented the cup. For more Ladies news, see the Ladies page.

The green was closed for outdoor play on 7th October, with the weather relenting sufficiently to allow two mixed rinks to enjoy a final match in sunshine.

Home News Facilities Membership The Ladies Links Honours History Contact Us

Last modified: April 04, 2014