Season 2016


Season 2016 was opened by President Michelle Orr on Saturday 9th April.  The green party consisted of Jim Cuthbertson, Carol Main (from DWBA), Vice President Alex Sinclair, President Michelle, Match Secretary Mary Cochrane, Past President David Linley and Douglas Orr.  After five new members were introduced, the usual President's versus Vice President match took place in dry but still chilly conditions.


The annual open triples competition was held in July, and resulted in a win for a Bearsden triple consisting of Gordon Smith, David Macdonald and Frank Kennedy (all former club champions). The pictures show the team with the sponsors banner and President Michelle Orr, and Jackie McAllister (representing  sponsors Jonathan Harvey) presenting the trophy to the winners.

Chris Lebessis organised another innovation for the club on Saturday 20th by organising a barbecue with some of his Greek friends. Although the food was cooked outside the cool conditions meant that the clubhouse was used for eating. Needless to say the meal was followed by some greek dancing!


A new social venture on Saturday 30th July was a continental breakfast at the club for members and friends followed by some fun on the green organised by Netta Moffatt to introduce non bowlers to the game. President Michelle and her helpers are shown getting into the European spirit.


Frank Kennedy and Alex Sinclair won the Kelvin Allander Top Ten pairs competition.

The bowling finals got underway with a mixed reserve day on Wednesday 24th which had some welcome sunshine. Christina Kennedy and Anne Blaine contested the Presidents prize. Also seated are Mary Cochrane and Marjory Macleod. Standing are Alistair Gunn, Sylvia Ferguson, Mae Gordon and David Macdonald. President Michelle Orr presented the pairs prize to Mary and Mae. The Presidents prize went to Christina and the Gents senior trophy to Alistair.


On Friday evening David Macdonald retained the Talbot Crosbie competition (played in sets) and obtained revenge by defeating Alistair Gunn. 

Finals day- 27th August

A good day for players and spectators saw five finals decided- the ladies and gents championships, ladies and gents vice-president's and gents fours.

The ladies VP competition was between Anne Blain and Sylvia Fergusson and was won by the latter after a close contest. In the Gent's VP competition President Michelle's husband Douglas Orr prevailed over Past President Richard Jackson.

The final of the Gents Fours competition saw David Macdonald's team of Tom O'Neill, George Broomfield and Gordon Smith prevail over Ronnie Bex's team of Reid Harrison, Ian Dunlop and Tom Glencross.

The Ladies Championship had a new winner this year in which Rena Jaffrey got off to a good start against Christina Kennedy (a former champion). Although Christina fought back, Rena held on to win her first championship.




The Gents Championship between three time winner Colin Beattie and two time winner Alistair Gunn proved a close affair which could have gone either way. Neither player was able to dominate as Colin was playing better going away from the bowls house while Alistair was finding his line and length better in the return direction. Colin had the lead early on but Alistair finally levelled at 15 all and then went ahead to 19-17. Colin then picked up a three, but Alistair replied with a two at the final end when Colin's last bowl just hit the wrong side of the second shot. A tense finish at 21-20!

                                 ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^ ^

Other Finals
On Sunday 28th,  Alistair Gunn continued his good singles season by defeating Eddie Humphries in the President's Trophy. There were many closely contested ends in the match, but Alistair was more successful at destroying the end when Eddie seemed in charge than the other way round!

In the Mixed Pairs Final, Frank and Christina Kennedy defeated Michelle and Douglas Orr to retain the trophy.


The final  of the 2 bowl singles took place on Tuesday afternoon, with Alistair Gunn winning at the expense of VP Alex Sinclair.


Home News Facilities Membership The Ladies Links Honours History Contact Us

Last modified: April 04, 2014